O Museum In The Mansion Reviews

Washington D.C.

Leave a review

* denotes required fields
Your Name *
Your Company
Your Email *
Event Date *
Event
   
Rate Your Experience *




Please leave your comments






  _  _      ___       _      _   ____    _____ 
 | || |    ( _ )     / \    / | |___ \  |___ / 
 | || |_   / _ \    / _ \   | |   __) |   |_ \ 
 |__   _| | (_) |  / ___ \  | |  / __/   ___) |
    |_|    \___/  /_/   \_\ |_| |_____| |____/ 
                                               
Please type the letters and numbers you see into the field below:
   
 

2,661 Reviews


Previous 500   1   2   3   4   5   6   Next

Shari Walker on Jul 15, 2010 said:

“I write a real estate blog, and wrote this piece about The Mansion: http://dc.thearlingtondirt.com/2010/07/12/oh-my-o-street-mansion/ We had taken my husband's parents there when they came to visit us recently. My mother and father in law have been essentially my parents for the past six years. They have loved me and supported me unconditionally. When my super-religious family wouldn't get behind our wedding because of differing religious views, my father-in-law stepped up and walked me down the aisle. My father-in-law, Mike, loves life more than almost anyone I have ever known. Jump out of airplanes? He's done it. Swim with sharks? Yep again. He served in Turkey during Vietnam, came home on Christmas leave, married his childhood sweetheart, my mother-in-law, Sandy, and swept her back to Turkey for an adventure. He is always doing or making something for others, like one his famous wood turning projects. Last time he came up, he brought my husband a cigar humido! r he made himself. This most recent trip when we came to The Mansion was picture perfect. We took him to see the Blue Angels show, brought him to The Mansion, and enjoyed each other's company to the fullest. That following week, we received news that he had a massive tumor in his lung that had spread to his brain, and he has now gone through radiation, is a about to start chemo, and has been given a few months to live. The Mansion will always be a special place for me and my husband because it holds the memories of our last good time together uninhibited by stress and dread. It is a special moment trapped in time, and we will cherish it always. It is a magical place, in so many ways, and every time we visit, we will remember that happy time. (click to enlarge)”


Peter Loge on Jul 15, 2010 said:

“The rumors that I started my own company just to throw parties at the Mansion and bring clients there are (largely) unfounded.”


Sheilah Goodman on Jul 14, 2010 said:

“Lovely stay-Just wish it could be longer.”


Sierra Kinet on Jul 14, 2010 said:

“Was Wonderful- Thanks! :)”


Barrett Caldwell on Jul 14, 2010 said:

“I would really enjoy returning here when I have more time to spend exploring. A wonderful adventure!”


James Stanley on Jul 14, 2010 said:

“Fun, quirky, eclectic hotel. An absolute must stay in DC”


Sarah Lu on Jul 14, 2010 said:

“Great tour, loved everything!”


Alison Nadle on Jul 13, 2010 said:

“Our tour was great! The mansion is beautiful and we enjoyed it”


Diane Steed on Jul 12, 2010 said:

“What an incredible collection of memorabilia. And lunch was wonderful.”


Published in Charles Luck Perspectives By Heidi LaSalata — Contributor: Meghan Marino on Jul 12, 2010 said:

“A TOUR OF THE WONDERFULLY WEIRD O ST. MUSEUM http://perspectives.charlesluck.com/2010/06/10/a-tour-of-the-wonderfully-weird-o-st-museum/”


Shafer L. Busch on Jul 11, 2010 said:

“I've never seen anything like it.”


Alyx Mark on Jul 3, 2010 said:

“The picture speaks for itself! :) We had such a fun time at the Mansion! (click picture to enlarge)”


Lina Vonderhaar on Jul 3, 2010 said:

“What a wonderful evening! We have visited The Mansion four times each on a Monday. Last Monday was my birthday, so my choice for dinner was O Street. We all had such a wonderful dinner and my birthday was WONDERFUL! Thank you!”


Carole Cones on Jul 3, 2010 said:

“I'm not really a poet, songwriter, or someone who would make a decent video, but I have found the Mansion to be an oasis in a town that all too often doesn't take time to look at the people around us except from the standpoint of their standing (i.e. powerful politician or administration official, rich businessman, etc. -- i.e. what can they do for me). I'm from Thorntown, Indiana, and came here many years ago to work for my Congressman, John Myers. I've always found the Mansion a treat and adventure, but as I learned more about the reason the Mansion came to be and a small bit about those who have a membership, the more I'm impressed and intrigued -- for example the dinners the Mansion occasionally quietly holds with people from all walks of life -- from powerful people to street people, none of whom know the names/satus of the others -- made it even more a place of which I'd like to be a part. Washington has much to offer, but it's a place that all too often ignores the diversity of this place which houses people once powerful people (but no longer), but still valuable and viable people, veterans who have their own stories to tell. I could go on and on, but I came to DC to learn more about government, but once I was here (and grew a bit older and, I hope wiser), I realized the wealth that is truly here in DC and mostly hidden. The Mansion discretely houses celebrities and those of us who are just regular people. Its diversity is something which, again the longer I'm here, I've come to value not only at the Mansion (we've not been active participants in the events, but have been there frequently -- bringing friends and relatives both from here and Indiana). It's a place which lets your mind go free -- sounds corny, but hope you will understand. My husband and I are at a point in our lives where we're facing the loss of our house and many other problems (insignificant compared to some), but this has also brought me to a point where I realize how much I've let "work" absorb me and not living my life to the fullest. Meeting new and diverse people, and hopefully having something to contribute as well, is something my husband and I would truly value and do our best to be members of your group who can contribute to the diversity and intrinsic value of what I've come to learn is the true meaning of the Mansion -- it's not just a neat place to have brunch. When you go below the surface, it's much, much more. As an aside, my husband and I are on our second marriage -- I've been here for many years, but he did a mid-life career change from building contractor to RN, working at the VA Hospital in DC. I met him while he was going to nursing school and working part-time at the nursing home where my mother resided for about about 4 years. We took a chance and married and he really took a leap of faith and came here to be with me. Contrary to questions from some of my friends as to how rich and old WAS he, as an RN he will never be rich, and he's my age -- since I've been here since '72, that will give you some clue. In short, we've often talked about a Membership to the Mansion, but had other financial priorities. This would be absolutely great for us and I assure you we'd do our best to add diversity to the "mix." House problems aside, we hope to remain here for some time, and are making adjustments as I work to establish a non-profit doing international development work. By the way, I should also mention (unrelated to our application) that we took my stepdaughter to the Mansion for brunch. She is a manager at Starbucks in Indiana. Just by chance one of her customers mentioned coming to DC. My stepdaughter asked if she'd heard of the Mansion -- the person had actually been there as a part of her meeting and was absolutely overwhelmed that Jama had been there with us. Sadly, it's taken me getting older to fully appreciate the fact that life is too short to just work -- we're both trying very hard to make that a priority. This would be a perfect opportunity -- I guess the longer you live the more you learn, and we hope to keep learning and learning. In fact, my husband has just gone back to school to obtain the equivalent in the nursing world of his MBA at 50+. So you can see, we're determined to regroup, while having fun and do interesting things at the same time. Thank you for your consideration -- and will keep fingers crossed.”


Anya Kendell on Jul 2, 2010 said:

“I love the Mansion because it reminds me of stepping into a story book. Walking in the front door is like stepping into Alice in Wonderland. While peering around corners and in strange rooms it has you wondering just how far down does the rabbit hole go? Very few things in this life give you a chance to relive being a kid like the Mansion does. Because of this, its one of my favorite places in DC, and every time I get a chance to take someone there I do. In a city as cynical as DC, its nice to add a bit of whimsy into the mix :)”


Carole Cones on Jul 1, 2010 said:

“I'm not really a poet, songwriter, or someone who would make a decent video, but I have found the Mansion to be an oasis in a town that all too often doesn't take time to look at the people around us except from the standpoint of their standing (i.e. powerful politician or administration official, rich businessman, etc. -- i.e. what can they do for me). I'm from Thorntown, Indiana, and came here many years ago to work for my Congressman, John Myers. I've always found the Mansion a treat and adventure, but as I learned more about the reason the Mansion came to be and a small bit about those who have a membership, the more I'm impressed and intrigued -- for example the dinners the Mansion occasionally quietly holds with people from all walks of life -- from powerful people to street people, none of whom know the names/satus of the others -- made it even more a place of which I'd like to be a part. Washington has much to offer, but it's a place that all too often ignores the diversity of this place which houses people once powerful people (but no longer), but still valuable and viable people, veterans who have their own stories to tell. I could go on and on, but I came to DC to learn more about government, but once I was here (and grew a bit older and, I hope wiser), I realized the wealth that is truly here in DC and mostly hidden.

The Mansion discretely houses celebrities and those of us who are just regular people. Its diversity is something which, again the longer I'm here, I've come to value not only at the Mansion (we've not been active participants in the events, but have been there frequently -- bringing friends and relatives both from here and Indiana). It's a place which lets your mind go free -- sounds corny, but hope you will understand. My husband and I are at a point in our lives where we're facing the loss of our house and many other problems (insignificant compared to some), but this has also brought me to a point where I realize how much I've let "work" absorb me and not living my life to the fullest. Meeting new and diverse people, and hopefully having something to contribute as well, is something my husband and I would truly value and do our best to be members of your group who can contribute to the diversity and intrinsic value of what I've come to learn is the true meaning of the Mansion -- it's not just a neat place to have brunch. When you go below the surface, it's much, much more. As an aside, my husband and I are on our second marriage -- I've been here for many years, but he did a mid-life career change from building contractor to RN, working at the VA Hospital in DC. I met him while he was going to nursing school and working part-time at the nursing home where my mother resided for about about 4 years. We took a chance and married and he really took a leap of faith and came here to be with me. Contrary to questions from some of my friends as to how rich and old WAS he, as an RN he will never be rich, and he's my age -- since I've been here since '72, that will give you some clue. In short, we've often talked about a Membership to the Mansion, but had other financial priorities. This would be absolutely great for us and I assure you we'd do our best to add diversity to the "mix." House problems aside, we hope to remain here for some time, and are making adjustments as I work to establish a non-profit doing international development work. By the way, I should also mention (unrelated to our application) that we took my stepdaughter to the Mansion for brunch. She is a manager at Starbucks in Indiana. Just by chance one of her customers mentioned coming to DC. My stepdaughter asked if she'd heard of the Mansion -- the person had actually been there as a part of her meeting and was absolutely overwhelmed that Jama had been there with us. Sadly, it's taken me getting older to fully appreciate the fact that life is too short to just work -- we're both trying very hard to make that a priority. This would be a perfect opportunity -- I guess the longer you live the more you learn, and we hope to keep learning and learning. In fact, my husband has just gone back to school to obtain the equivalent in the nursing world of his MBA at 50+. So you can see, we're determined to regroup, while having fun and do interesting things at the same time. Thank you for your consideration -- and will keep fingers crossed.”


Nancy Clark on Jun 29, 2010 said:

“A truly wonderful stay at this unique mansion. Loved wondering every evening to see what new room or new decoration would catch my eye. I want to try each and every room. Now that sounds like a wonderful goal!”


Roberto Facundus on Jun 28, 2010 said:

“A place that I simply don't understand, but can't get enough of.”


sk on Jun 27, 2010 said:

“Thanks to you and everyone on your team who made the event great!”


Eileen Marston on Jun 24, 2010 said:

“My baby's engaged to her Prince Charming but planning a wedding has become alarming. The Mansion would be the perfect venue, allowing her to celebrate a dream come true. We'd love to be members of such an exquisite site! We hope we'll win them a magical night. I am a teacher, but enrollment is down so now I must job-hunt all over town. I would truly appreciate your lovely Grand Prize and enjoy the excitement in my daughter's eyes! ~ Thanks for considering us! (click picture to enlarge)”


The Mansion! on Jun 21, 2010 said:

“Congratulations to the Grand Prize Winners of the Alice in Wonderland Treasure Hunt & Tea! Jerry Mowery won a $100 gift card and Quinta Jackson won a one nights stay at The Mansion!


Forest Hamlin on Jun 21, 2010 said:

“My first visit. Great Place. I'll be back!”


Joey on Jun 21, 2010 said:

“I loved the treasure part. It was so much fun. I hope I can do it next year too!”


Katherine Konkel on Jun 21, 2010 said:

“The Mansion is whimsy and wonder. It is a great combination of fancy decor with a vintage feel. It is a space uncreated anywhere else in DC.”


Whitney Rivas on Jun 15, 2010 said:

“I came to the mansion a couple of years ago for a party i loved it...I loved how priviate it was. It was my little secret. The service was wonderful, the food was great, and party was one not to ever forget. Thank you for such a wonderful night and more to come..”


Brenda Harris on Jun 14, 2010 said:

“At 60 years young with my first visit, I had the best time at the Mansion ever, remembering things that I experience as a little girl at home in Blackstone, Va. and Lanham, Md. The varities of food were delightfully delicious and the chic atmoshere was awesome. I thank you for such as great experience”


Scott Alprin on Jun 13, 2010 said:

“Thanks for helping to make our 2nd anniversary special!”


Maggie H. — Disney's Alice in Wonderland Treasure Hunt & Tea Party on Jun 12, 2010 said:

“AmAzing!!! Just left the mansion. It was a GREAT event! Great turn out everyone had a blast. Thanks SO much for putting this together!”


Donna Smith on Jun 12, 2010 said:

“What a fun place to stay. We had a great time exploring - I'm only sad we didn't have more time -- there are rooms we missed so I'm looking forward to going back.”


miriam forster on Jun 11, 2010 said:

“A unique place for unique memories”


Laura Tuel on Jun 11, 2010 said:

“A safe place...”


Deana H. on Jun 11, 2010 said:

“I want you to know how thrilled everyone was with the bridal shower breakfast I hosted at the Mansion on O last Sunday. Our private room was absolutely beautiful, the food was fantastic, the service was extremely attentive and the dessert buffet was quite amazing. The bride-to-be hasn't stopped talking about her shower and the Mansion. Thank you so very much for making possible such a wonderful place to celebrate our event.”


The Mansion! on Jun 9, 2010 said:

“Hey Everyone! We won a Talk of the Town Award for Customer Satisfaction - Thank you for your support and kind words we really appreciate it!!!! Check it out! http://talkofthetownsearch.com/aw_search0.asp?key=57750”


The Mansion! on Jun 9, 2010 said:

“Hey Everyone! We won a Talk of the Town Award for Customer Satisfaction - Thank you for your support and kind words we really appreciate it!!!! Check it out! http://talkofthetownsearch.com/aw_search0.asp?key=57750”


admin on Jun 9, 2010 said:

“Hey Everyone! We won a Talk of the Town Award for Customer Satisfaction - Thank you for your support and kind words we really appreciate it!!!! Check it out! http://talkofthetownsearch.com/aw_search0.asp?key=57750”


Erin Mantz on Jun 8, 2010 said:

“I first arrived at the Mansion in 1994, my first New Year's Eve since i'd moved to Dupont Circle from Chicago. Entering the mansion, at age 24 and just a few years out of college situated in a small town, I felt like i entered a magical world! The cocktails, the music, the crowds, the play casino tables, the spectactular scene before me made me realize I was in a very special place at a very special time. And that was just the entry-level floor! Making my way up the stairs and through secret doors and twists and turns, one room was more interesting and unique than the next. My favorite has stuck with me for years -- the "log cabin" with the loft-like kitchen and beautiful bathroom. Since 1994, I have dreamt of one day making a success of myself to come back and stay in this special room. I have certainly built my career and had kids since then, and get bogged down with bills for the mortgage, college funds and child care, but, at age forty, I still dream about waking u! p in the log cabin room just one time and enjoying brunch, away from the everyday Eggo waffle-toasting and hub-bub or real daily life!”


Tim & Melissa - Wedding Reception on Jun 8, 2010 said:

“Thank you for everything you did to make our wedding reception a truly wonderful evening. Sally and Katherine were so wonderful during the planning process, Hillary was terrific as our on-site person that night, your chefs created a great meal and unbelievable dessert room, and the wait staff & bartender that night was the best. Please know how much we appreciate what you did for us!”


Natalie Donovan on Jun 5, 2010 said:

“Super Fabuloso! Every room is a treasure hunt.”


M. Shelton & S. Sedwick on Jun 3, 2010 said:

“Our stay was enchanting & fun. Including the Tea on Saturday and breakfast in the kitchen. We loved the Captain's Quarters, especially our son, 10 who slept on his first waterbed!”


Robert & Tabitha Barr on Jun 2, 2010 said:

“This experience has been fantastic! I could stay here for weeks wandering from room to room just looking and reading and exploring! Thanks to our Chef, and really the entire staff! This experience has been just wonderful!”


Beverly Barnhart on Jun 1, 2010 said:

“I never heard of the Mansion until I attended a Purdue alumni party a few years ago when the PU president attended. I was amazed and awed at the place,and so proud to know a fellow PU alum was the owner. I have never been to any restaurant (how can I call it just that? It is really an "experience") that was so overwhelmingly beautiful and a sensory experience. I tell everyone I know about it and hope to be a member one day. This place is nothing short of fabulous and a wonderful DC secret!”


Alyx on Jun 1, 2010 said:

“The picture speaks for itself! :) We had such a fun time at the Mansion! (click picture to enlarge)”


Patricia Boling on Jun 1, 2010 said:

“Once upon a time there was a version of me I lived in the city and partied for free Today here I sit in the burbs with my children times six Oh how a membership and fun would just fix This longing I have from time to time To get away with friends and have something just mine Pick me Pick me Pick me!!!”


Piper, Ellis, Harper, Shawn & Marta on May 26, 2010 said:



Brendan Curran on May 22, 2010 said:

“I don't need a minibar in my room w/ $7 cashews. I don't need a giant atrium in the lobby. What I need is feeling like a guest at someone's house. Instead of feeling like a transient working in DC, at least after 6PM I'm on vacation. The Mansion is the hidden gem of DC hotels.”


Brendan C. on May 21, 2010 said:

“I just wanted to thank you and everyone at the mansion again. It is an oasis among the typical hotel desert. Those rooms are something else.”


Melanie Stevenson on May 20, 2010 said:

“Love the kitchen. Great concept for a hotel!”


Denise on May 19, 2010 said:

“Thank you for the grand repast at The Mansion. The serving tables were laden with tasty vittles and wonderful sweets, and no bounds were placed on replenishments. It proved to be a jolly get-together on a rainy afternoon. It is gratifying to know that you consider the occasion an earned reward for our achievements I appreciate the recognition. (click to enlarge image)”


Franz Hauk on May 19, 2010 said:

“One of a kind ? Unique! A whole different experience...I would stay again!”


J. Wasserman on May 14, 2010 said:

“Receiving your amazing emails just make me miss the Mansion even more! (sigh) Every now and then my 4 year old asks out of the blue, "when can we go to the mansion again?" Hope everything is great with you and your family!”


Paula Liuke on May 13, 2010 said:



J. Vaccaro on May 12, 2010 said:

“We had a wonderful meal and a fabulous experience celebrating my daughter's graduation from American University this past Sunday. Thank you for a truly unique experience!”


G. Birce on May 12, 2010 said:

“You have got a treasure here! Hope it stays around for a long time to come!”


Curran on May 10, 2010 said:

“Just awesome!”


M. Clopton on May 9, 2010 said:

“I truly enjoyed my first experience and look forward to coming back soon”


Sarah Hartnett and Friends on May 9, 2010 said:

“Best Mother's Day brunch ever! We love coming to O mansion- feels like brunch at home with someone else doing the work.”


Manela Diez on May 9, 2010 said:

“We had a wonderful Mother's Day! The food was good and the service great! Thanks!”


Terra Reid on May 4, 2010 said:

“Thank you. The phrase is simple and the words are few, but behind them lies a world of appreciation. Thank you for making my "fabulous 40" birthday brunch at The Mansion such a memorable event for my friends and family. Special people like you make the world a better place.”


Dianna S. on May 3, 2010 said:

“We had a great time! Steve was awesome...he did a great job. Thanks for everything!”


Roberta on Apr 30, 2010 said:

“That was a lovely dinner last night; my guests and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Special thanks to Kathryn and Antoine who were both superb.”


Tracy S. on Apr 29, 2010 said:

“Many thanks for a wonderful visit. Especially the spontaneous meal from your chef as well as Hillary's caring attendance to my requests. Just so much fun and so comfortable. I slept wonderfully well.”


Kitt on Apr 29, 2010 said:

“The Mansion was the perfect hotel for our reunion! You can't help but have a great time here! We loved buying the stuff all around us; and the sensational brunch topped it all off. Thanks for making it a sensational reunion for us!! I agree with another writer here, you must experience staying here before you die. And sooner, rather than later, since you'll want to return annually. (Go on, live it up! ) ”


Tracy S on Apr 29, 2010 said:

“Many thanks for a wonderful visit. Especially the spontaneous meal from your chef as well as Hillary's caring attendance to my requests. Just so much fun and so comfortable. I slept wonderfully well.”


Dr. Anne Deaton on Apr 27, 2010 said:

“Whimsical, delightful to the eye and spirit- and this is my second visit to The Mansion- the effect is equally charming-which is good because I brought friends!”


Blaine Griffin on Apr 19, 2010 said:

“I stayed in the log cabin room. I have been all over the world (Europe, Israel, etc.). This is by far the most unique, dynamic and opulent lodging experience I have ever had. Thank you.”


Carol on Apr 19, 2010 said:

“The magic again enveloped me and never left. It is with me still. Thank you, thank you! We loved the Lennon room and were so glad that it was one of our options, though truly? It wouldn't have mattered then, and it won't matter the next time, what rooms were/are available, because each is a unique adventure in itself, and that, too, is part of the magic. Thank you! I don't think I know of any other place where the answer to any request is always "Yes." Not "Yes, but." Just "Yes." Every single person at the Mansion was kind and helpful and friendly...and effortless. Not studied. Not rehearsed. Just genuinely kind and wonderful. I had the best time sitting ensconced by the window on the sofa in the room with all the chandeliers, listening to the music and reading my New Yorker, and then later taking a stroll to DuPont Circle to people-watch. So, could i just come and live there for a while? ;-) Thank you, again!”


John - PBS on Apr 19, 2010 said:

“The PBS party was a smashing success! Our guests said ? It was the perfect party on every level ? it was actually very much fun ? I loved every minute and morsel. Thanks so much for everything. An event at the Mansion is always a magical experience, and this was no exception.”


Carol on Apr 19, 2010 said:

“The magic again enveloped me and never left. It is with me still. Thank you, thank you! We loved the Lennon room and were so glad that it was one of our options, though truly? It wouldn't have mattered then, and it won't matter the next time, what rooms were/are available, because each is a unique adventure in itself, and that, too, is part of the magic. Thank you! I don't think I know of any other place where the answer to any request is always "Yes." Not "Yes, but." Just "Yes." Every single person at the Mansion was kind and helpful and friendly?and effortless. Not studied. Not rehearsed. Just genuinely kind and wonderful. I had the best time sitting ensconced by the window on the sofa in the room with all the chandeliers, listening to the music and reading my New Yorker, and then later taking a stroll to DuPont Circle to people-watch. So, could i just come and live there for a while? Thank you, again!”


Blaine Griffin on Apr 19, 2010 said:

“I stayed in the log cabin room. I have been all over the world (Europe, Israel, etc.). This is by far the most unique, dynamic and opulent lodging experience I have ever had. Thank you.”


The Skattums on Apr 18, 2010 said:

“Thank you for your hospitality this past week. We really enjoyed staying at your mansion and look forward to coming back in the future. We must say this was the most unique BB we've ever stayed in.”


M. on Apr 18, 2010 said:

“We loved our visit & can't wait to come back again.”


Peggy & Dale Dumont on Apr 18, 2010 said:

“Had a great time! Everything was done great! Your gal Hilary made it very easy...”


J Valeriano & AEPhi on Apr 18, 2010 said:

“Thank you so much for making our formal amazing! I can't even tell you how many people came up to me telling me it was the best sorority function they've ever been to! Everyone loved the place, the food, the DJ, and the staff... The Mansion is an amazing place and I'm so happy to have found it. I will definitely be back many times!”


M. on Apr 18, 2010 said:

“We loved our visit & can't wait to come back again.”


The Skattums on Apr 18, 2010 said:

“Thank you for your hospitality this past week. We really enjoyed staying at your mansion and look forward to coming back in the future. We must say this was the most unique BB we've ever stayed in.”


Steph & Britt on Apr 12, 2010 said:

“The staff was all very helpful, professional, nice and excellently dressed! We had a great experience and will be recommending to others! Thanks!”


Paul and Michele Nathanson on Apr 11, 2010 said:

“All of you made Hannah's Bat Mitzvah party wonderful - everything was perfect. The food, as usual, was excellent, but it is the little and big things you all do to make sure we have a special day that makes the Mansion such a wonderful place. We greatly appreciate all your efforts, your thoughtfulness, creativeness, care and hard work in making Hannah's Bat Mitzvah party such a wonderful occasion.”


Kathleen on Apr 6, 2010 said:

“It was a terrific brunch and the cake was fabulous! Thanks for singing Happy Birthday to Emily. :)”


Doug & Kate Coleman on Apr 4, 2010 said:

“So much fun! Best Easter Brunch - ever!”


Margarita on Apr 2, 2010 said:

“I can't thank you and everyone else at the Mansion enough for making our stay memorable and making us feel at home. We're making plans to come back in the fall because we enjoyed it so much.”


Margarita on Apr 2, 2010 said:

“I can't thank you and everyone else at the Mansion enough for making our stay memorable and making us feel at home. We're making plans to come back in the fall because we enjoyed it so much.”


Elise Title on Mar 31, 2010 said:

“We had the best time at the Mansion and look forward to another visit.”


Elise Title on Mar 31, 2010 said:

“We had the best time at the Mansion and look forward to another visit.”


Cheryl on Mar 29, 2010 said:

“Had a FABULOUS brunch yesterday!!! The brisket was GREAT!!!! I really liked the apple fruit salad too. I had only one problem, not enough room in my stomach to try all the foods.”


Sheila on Mar 29, 2010 said:

“Thank you so much for everything. My stay was wonderful. I love that the building is named for Rosa Parks. I love that I was surrounded by music and political memorabilia. I love the exquisitely decorated rooms, the privacy. And I love that I sat on a comfy couch sipping ginger tea watching Health Care Reform pass during my stay.”


Tom Martin, American Forest Foundation on Mar 24, 2010 said:

“Thank you for naming us your charity for the Earth Day breakfast ? you are a terrific partner and supporter.”


Emily on Mar 23, 2010 said:

“The Mansion was one of the nicest stays I've had while in DC. Great location (just a few block walk from my meeting place), comfortable place and coffee right out the door! Couldn't ask for more. Thank you for your hospitality”


D. Florence on Mar 21, 2010 said:

“Our waiter was Seth. We have been here before but never have we had such a special time and it was due to Seth. He was warm, friendly & informative.”


S. Jaebissi on Mar 18, 2010 said:

“Seth is exceptional ? we had outstanding service, he was a delight and we will be back.”


Caryn on Mar 15, 2010 said:

“We had a treasure hunt at our last Mansion event and it was a true highlight.....friends and family are still talking about it.”


Miriam on Mar 9, 2010 said:

“We love being in our "home away from home" and guess we have you (and the big group who booked out the full mansion across the way!) for introducing us to the new and exquisite joys of the Versailles Room. We had an amazingly wonderful 3 nights there.”


T. Martin on Mar 7, 2010 said:

“I celebrated my birthday with the Brain Teaser Treasure Hunt and Champagne.... THANK YOU! All of my friends and I had a fabulous time, what a unique experience.”


Mary McBride on Mar 1, 2010 said:

“Thank you so much for having us play at the mansion. We had such a wonderful time and appreciate that you do these concerts as a labor of love. It is such a rarity these days to play at such a welcoming venue.”


Patsy Ray on Feb 26, 2010 said:

“I can't begin to tell you how much I enjoyed my visit. So I am sending you my grandmother's silver and some of my jewelry to show you.”


Magdalena Kusemileva on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“I wanted to thank you for organizing the amazing event for us last night. My team had a fabulous time, the food was great, the whole atmosphere very unique as usual, your staff was very discreet but always at hand, everyone loved the numerology reports and also Ted's speech was very interesting. In a word, a great event, thanks to all of you guys. We are looking forward to organizing something similar again!”


Shay Stautz on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“Thank you for a once in a lifetime amazing experience! ?”


William M Cusmano on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“The food was fabulous, the setting was enchanting and your generosity was undeserved, but much appreciated. Thank you for your hospitality. My children were impressed that I knew such a great place!”


Sheila on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“I've decided the Mansion will be my "glass slipper". I figure the man who gets it ? me? and enjoys the mansion as I do ? from the architectural details and treasures, to the added treasures of art, books, nick-knacks, guitars, luxurious and fun touches, surprises and stimulating yet relaxing style? in addition to the culinary experience will "fit" my glass slipper? So i will be coming down for many day trip and weekends from Rhode Island in the hunt!”


K. Simmons on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“Thank you so much. We had a wonderful time. People told me that was the BEST Boeing event they have ever attended. The staff - everyone was absolutely wonderful to us. We will definitely look forward to returning and recommending other Boeing groups to attend the O Street Mansion. Thanks again!”


Toby Hartwell on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“This is the home in an of your dreams like Alice's Wonderland where nothing is, as it seems. A place to feed your soul and rest your feet. A cornucopia of delights hidden on O Street. Unique, unmatched ? ?most certainly!'”


Mindy Miller, Garfish on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“As "seasoned" world travelers (from NYC no less) you don't expect to be "wowed" too often, however, our experience with you proved there is always something new and magnificent to experience”


Ruby on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“I just stayed at the mansion in the 5th Dimension and it was FANTASTIC!!! I couldn't believe that I was in a hotel. It was truly amazing!”


Barry Everett on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“'Unbelievably serene, but incredibly stimulating stay. I finally feel as if I have experienced the awe of DC history. A very personal history'.”


Marylin Smith on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“'I Love this place - there is always a bit of fear when traveling but here I never even locked my door! Wandering around in my PJ's to get coffee is the best!'”


Gatehouse Guest on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“After moving five times in a month, it's a great pleasure to be at the Gatehouse and unpack. Everyday I think of you in my heart. What a beautiful place to live! The ultimate in inner city shared housing.”


Sherry C on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“Thank you so very much. Our stay was delightful and we look forward to returning.”


Roberts G. on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“I just wanted to take the opportunity to thank you all for a wonderful experience over these past few days. Your hospitality and company made getting stranded in a blizzard a pleasure, and I hope to be able to return soon, especially to find time to play the graphite guitar!”


Shay Stautz on Feb 25, 2010 said:

“Thank you for a once in a lifetime amazing experience! ?”


Janessa on Feb 24, 2010 said:

“We are still living off our wonderful week! Whenever you are in S FL we would love the opportunity to take you both out to dinner. Just let us know! And enjoy the oranges!”


C. Epstein on Feb 22, 2010 said:

“It was a fantastic event?and every detail was handled perfectly by O Mansion staff.”


A. Loomis on Feb 15, 2010 said:

“I just wanted to thank you for an amazing stay at the O Mansion. The Mansion is incredible, and everyone I had the pleasure of meeting was extremely accommodating and friendly. It was by far the most exciting, unique experience I have ever had in a hotel; You all definitely succeed in helping your guests break from their everyday routine, and you most certainly provide an experience that will not be forgotten. It was so nice meeting you, and I hope to be back soon!”


Amanda Van Sickle on Feb 15, 2010 said:

“We had such a great time! The dinner on Valentine's day was amazing. My mouth is watering thinking about it :)”


B & F Elbeze on Feb 14, 2010 said:

Very comfortable accommodations and ambience. Thank you to our hosts and Katherine who took us on a lovely tour. We'll be recommending you to friends and family. Congratulations on your 30th anniversary!”


Luke Wilbur on Feb 14, 2010 said:

“I thought the specialty cake you designed for Valentine's Day was fantastic!”


Yumi, The World Bank on Feb 11, 2010 said:

“We are truly glad to have had our event hosted at the Mansion not only for Sunday part but also a surprise Monday with all the snow, as the Bank closed down and we had guests! I thank you and all your staff for the greatest support and response to all sorts of requests we'd had.”


Mike & Lindsay on Feb 9, 2010 said:

“We had a great wedding and this amazing venue was the reason for it all. It was great to share The Mansion with my friends and family, and everyone had a great time.”


Thalia on Feb 3, 2010 said:

“I just wanted to thank you all for helping us put on our best Madison & Mistletoe to date! Our guests had a FABULOUS time and that is in large part due to all of your hard work.”


Casey T. on Jan 31, 2010 said:

“Thank you so much for all your hard work. the board retreat was fantastic, everyone had a good time and the food was DELICIOUS!!! We're looking forward to working with you again.”


C. Trees on Jan 30, 2010 said:

“Thank you so much for all your hard work. The board retreat was fantastic, everyone had a good time and the food was DELICIOUS!!! We're looking forward to working with you again.”


D. Hightower on Jan 17, 2010 said:

“Thank you for your attentiveness and pleasant attitude.”


Adrienne Pereira on Jan 16, 2010 said:

“I love my B-day on Nov 17Th with the Madison violet!! I bought all there CD and will never forget them! I am there fan now!!!”


JoAnn Mussenden on Jan 9, 2010 said:

“Our event was a BIG hit. Thank you for working with us. Everyone loves the Mansion and all report planning to return. All guests continue to marvel at the quantity of food and the presentations. Everyone reported a favorite dish. The big hits were too many to name but my mother reports that the sweet potato casserole was: "just like the casserole we make." Of course nothing gets better than a claim like that from an outstanding cook. Thank you, again for being so considerate of my groups. I love working with you and will continue to send business to the Mansion. ? JoAnn Mussenden, Chapter President | Silver Spring, Maryland Chapter of the Links, Inc.


Barry Everett on Jan 5, 2010 said:

“Unbelievably serene, but incredibly stimulating stay. I finally feel as if I have experienced the awe of DC history. A very personal history.”


Mary Gilbert on Jan 4, 2010 said:

“On Christmas Eve, we had a grand time visiting your beautiful home and magical emporium with our family. Our two daughters and grandson had never been there, so I was rather apprehensive about their reactions...As you might well imagine, your unique establishment won them over. They thought your viands were delicious and amazingly abundant and, in addition, they thoroughly enjoyed exploring many of the enticing nooks and crannies of the Mansion.”


Roy | Senior Director | CFRST Lodging Operations, Marriott on Dec 22, 2009 said:

“I just took a second to explore your website and left the site with a big smile on my face and glow in my heart. I love reading about what you and Mansion have accomplished over the years and how it's touched so many lives through your amazing vision and God-given gifts. I will definitely plan to come down with my wife.”


Dennis Hightower on Dec 22, 2009 said:

“Happy Holidays H & Ted!!!! I will miss being with you @ the Mansion this Xmas! See you late January.”


John R on Dec 12, 2009 said:

“My second stay at the mansion was even more entertaining than the first and the first was spectacular. You have created something really unique and intellectually stimulating.”


Jesse Winchester on Dec 9, 2009 said:

“Amazing place. Can't describe. It's a feeling. Amazing grace.”


John Van Blarcom — New Jersey on Dec 8, 2009 said:

“Don't change a thing! We will be back in a month!”


Tommy Shaw, Guitarist/Musician, STYX on Dec 8, 2009 said:

“The chocolate chip cookies are mind altering”


OC on Dec 8, 2009 said:

“Attended a wedding reception at Mansion on O in early June 2009 during which an exquisite lemon meringue pie and a luscious lemon cheesecake were served. A group of us conversed about how good these desserts were (especially the lemon meringue) and encouraged everyone who came near to try them. I never thought that I would have a lemon meringue pie as good as my grandmother used to make but thankfully I was wrong. Mansion on O's lemon meringue pie was soooooo good that I've been thinking about it for weeks and hope to enjoy another piece in the near future.”


K. Whitehead on Dec 8, 2009 said:

“A haven in Washington, D.C. something so un-dc. A pleasure for a brit living in the us. keep up the good work!”


John Van Blarcom — New Jersey on Dec 8, 2009 said:

“Don't change a thing! We will be back in a month!”


Julia on Dec 4, 2009 said:

“I had a great time at the silent auction last week it was beautiful, festive and felt great to give!”


Pat on Dec 3, 2009 said:

“Jim was asked to serve on the Board of Directors for the Community Health Accreditation Program and he attended his first Board meeting on Tuesday. The organization was having a dinner on Wednesday night to honor and say farewell to both a long time Board member and a long time staffer. It was to be held at The Mansion on O Street formerly, The O Street Mansion and before that H.H. Leonards?. the very place we got married! When he told them that, they told him to bring me. Without telling me where it was, except for "some hotel" on O Street, he told me that I was invited and asked if I wanted to go. I said, sure, why not?.I met him at his office at 5:45, we took a taxi over?I didn't exactly hear the address he gave the driver, but when the taxi turned the corner onto the street and asked what address we were looking for again, Jim said, 2020?and the dawn struck!! "Hey," I said, "isn't that where we got MARRIED!" "Why YES," he said, laughing his little trickster laugh. It was very nice and exciting. We hadn't been back at all since the wedding in 1983 and it was only one house then. Now it is five interconnecting houses and very interesting to explore. They had a fabulous bar and both of the young women make excellent and very large cosmos?I know because I had two! Then, after we were all seated but before we ate dinner, H. H. herself talked a little about the place and asked if there were any questions. I told her we had gotten married there almost 25 years ago! And she gave us a coupon for a complimentary champagne Sunday brunch for two?.I think we'll use it on May 27, which is the Sunday before our anniverary on the 29th. And maybe we'll have a party back there for our 25th anniversary next year. It's certainly a beautiful and fun place and the food is fabulous! April 12, 2007


Lauren on Dec 1, 2009 said:

“Thank you for organizing a wonderful dinner for us last night, everyone praised the food and said what a wonderful time they had!”


Ms. Morgan D. Ortagus on Dec 1, 2009 said:

“The event was perfect! We had a really fantastic time. The food was perfect, even better than the last time I was there. And the whole office loved exploring the mansion. It was a huge success and I know you will get a lot of good word of mouth from our group!”


Sylvia Hartman on Dec 1, 2009 said:

“The kids loved it - as did we!”


Carina on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“I came by with my mom today for razzle dazzle and just wanted to say, what a wonderful and magical place you have. I really loved walking through the home and it was such a delight for the senses. I only wish there were more places in the world such as this. When I got home, I went on your website again to find out more and just continued to be inspired. Thanks so much for being real and showing others how it's done.”


Ginger Young on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“We were married at the Mansion nearly 19 years ago, on October 13, 1991. We have been VERY happily married ever since then (for the marvelous start you gave us, we owe you forever a debt of gratitude, seriously). We now have three children and live in Chapel Hill, NC -- we will plan to come spend our 20th anniversary there in just over a year. And we may still book your Monday lunch this trip, so we can show our kids the magical gem of a place where Mom and Dad exchanged their vows. We continue to be so delighted to have discovered you for our wedding nearly two decades ago, and we look forward to revisiting the spot where so much of our continuing happiness and amazing good fortune was launched.”


Lois on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“Everyone truly enjoyed the special tea. The Mansion speaks for itself - it is an amazing place. Already friends have booked a brunch or tea for a retirement party, since our event.”


Andy on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“I want to thank you for the opportunity to enjoy brunch. I would never be able to explain the O Street Mansion to my family if I hadn't, One of a kind doesn't begin and/or do it justice. The Amnesia Room is my favorite. I get it!”


Carina on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“I came by with my mom today for razzle dazzle and just wanted to say, what a wonderful and magical place you have. I really loved walking through the home and it was such a delight for the senses. I only wish there were more places in the world such as this. When I got home, I went on your website again to find out more and just continued to be inspired. Thanks so much for being real and showing others how it's done.”


Leigh Hamilton on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“Last Monday was a magical, enchanting day. I woke up knowing something special was going to happen. Since then I have been trying to describe my afternoon at The Mansion and the only other words I can come up with, which are not adequate, are warm and whimsical. Thank you for sharing your divine inspiration and showing us what was behind some of the hidden doors. Hope to return soon!”


Thomas W. Patterson on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“Just a quick note of thanks to commend you and your staff for doing such a stellar job. The sales kickoff dinner I hosted there on Tuesday was phenominal, due in no small part to your staff, who took care of every detail in such a gracious and accommodating manner.”


Alex Wightman on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“I wanted to thank you for your hospitality and generosity last evening. I have stayed in a lot of hotels in my time, but there's certainly no place else in the world like yours! It was a wonderful experience.”


Linda Baller on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“Incredible! What a gorgeous place!”


Michael & Rachel on Nov 30, 2009 said:

“We had a wonderful time staying in the John Lennon Suite New Years, and we wish you and the Mansion the very best for the year to come. Hope to see you all again soon!”


Paul & Mariana Williams on Nov 26, 2009 said:

“My fianc? Paul was scheduled to perform for an intimate gathering February 14th, celebrating the O Mansion's Silver Anniversary as well as the Benefit for The Clare Foundation. Paul Williams was a favorite of H. H. Leonards Spero, the hotel's founder and being one of the most romantic composers on record (that would be vinyl and compact disc), his music proved to be an excellent choice for the romantics in the city. My fianc? and I embarked on an adventure that began with pressing a red button on a concrete wall of a non-descript doorway. Feeling like Dorothy from Kansas, we found ourselves inside a magical world once the heavy door clanked shut. The interior of The Mansion has high ceilings and crystal chandeliers dangling sepia-toned light, casting the antiques, fine art and guests all in the same warm amber glow. After just minutes inside this mansion, you wonder if you can ever leave. The shimmering aesthetics draw you in, or is it they call you home? The comfort surrounds you like a velvet cloak and it's almost intoxicating. I've heard travelers describe the danger of stepping off a trail in a dense jungle; just two feet from the path one could get lost forever. That's the rich allure one feels standing just a few feet inside the door of this private luxury hotel of 22 rooms in the District of Columbia. The Nation's Capital, a-buzz with the concrete world of politics, for now has been placed on hold, as the real world is suspended. With few clocks or calendars, idealism reigns as music flows from room to room. The sensual atmosphere of beauty is set in motion by the founder of The Mansion, H. H. Leonards and her husband Ted Spero, whose eclectic taste is artfully displayed and heartfully expressed. Were wings promising a quiet protection shielding us from the noise of the city streets? Perhaps, since The Mansion is overflowing with angels pictured in ornate frames, replicated in marble and porcelain, or simply flying by on a painted wall. With just our minister Dr. Jim Turrell and his wife Patty flown in from California, we had a private ceremony in the Penthouse. As luck would have it (the word luck has been replaced by magical intervention), a beautiful picture of the Madonna hung on the wall behind us. The Greek artist, Alexandra Roussis, was the featured artist of the month, and her collection graced many of the walls in February; and described as "paintings that celebrate life and heal the soul." As we took our vows, candles flickered beside white roses as the song The Very Thought of You played in the background. It was an ideal romantic setting for the happiest day of our lives. Just as I started to get weepy, the beat turned around with the trumpet harmonies ofBeginnings by Chicago. The two songs book-ended emotions we were over-come with, at our tiny-gigantic wedding. Paul Williams' songs We've Only Just Begun, and Evergreen have set the backdrop for many couples on their wedding day. For us, at mid-life, we feel the same sentiments and rush of young love that those lyrics expressed. However, we needed to separate ourselves from those songs and that time. This year on Valentine's Day, for Paul and me, love was absolutely soft as an easy chair, and we are so thrilled that "we've only just begun!"”


Simona Flores on Nov 22, 2009 said:

“Words alone cannot describe my gratitude for the party and sharing your "home" with me. I have memories that will last a lifetime.”


Kristen C. on Nov 17, 2009 said:

“It's unanimous - our team had a wonderfully productive and fun retreat and cooking class last Friday. We'd like to send special thanks and recognition to Diana Diamond who took excellent care of us and enhanced every aspect of our cooking class.”


Marguerite on Aug 14, 2009 said:

“Our group had such a great time last week! Many have indicated they'd prefer to stay at the Mansion during future visits than the area hotels we have been using! And the food was a feast to the eyes as well as the tummy, yes many of us overate, but it was worth it. (People are still talking about the lobster pot pie and the seaweed salad!)”


Joel Korn & Susan Bandler on Jun 22, 2009 said:

“Jona's bat mitzvah celebration at The Mansion turned out to be a wonderful, memorable evening for our family. Our guests loved exploring the unique space and savoring the delicious food -- several also commented on the quality of the staff. We are appreciative for your responsiveness to our suggestions and to all of your attention to detail. Though we imagined it when we booked the party last fall, our experience confirmed what a unique and special place the Mansion is.”


Barbara and Geoffery on Jun 5, 2009 said:

“Many historical events have taken place at The Mansion, but to Geoffery and me, The Mansion is like no other place we have ever visited. It's like home. We believe that The Mansion is the only place to bring the most special people in our lives on our most special day. Thank you for a perfect wedding reception. You and your entire staff were wonderful. My guests can not stop talking about The Mansion, the food, and the staff. Geoff and I are so happy about everything. The International room was wonderful too. Geoff and I plan to return for our anniversary. The wedding cake was magnificent. Again, thank you for an extraordinary experience and I can hardly wait to see all of you again.”


Spiro Fokas on May 19, 2009 said:

“This was the most fun I've ever had in a hotel? and I was alone! I'll never stay anywhere else in DC. I can't wait to return.”


Archana on May 6, 2009 said:

“I attended your wonderful Cinco de Mayo event last night. Your place gorgeous, the dishes tasty and the staff wonderful. Please thank your staff for me - one was thoughtful to remember that I was a vegetarian and brought over the poppers when they were ready. (Thank you!)”


Joe on Apr 7, 2009 said:

“Thanks you so much, I absolutely love your property! More importantly, our most important clients raved about our dinner.”


Paul and Michele Nathanson on Dec 27, 2008 said:

“The Mansion was the perfect, unique venue for our daughter Rachel's Bat Mitzvah. Rachel and her friends had a wonderful time exploring the Mansion and dancing and playing games with the DJ. The adults were amazed not only by the d?cor of the Mansion, but by the fabulous food and desserts. The Mansion staff could not have been more accommodating and were great to work with throughout the planning process. Our immediate family stayed at the Mansion for the Bat Mitzvah and it was a weekend that we will all remember forever. I strongly recommend the Mansion to anyone who is looking for something different than a hotel or country club ball room for their child's Bar or Bat Mitzvah.”


Robert M. McGuire on Dec 16, 2008 said:

“Thank you for a most wonderful evening last night. I greatly apprecaite the service and accomodation that you gave the group. Your place came highly recommended and now I see why. I will definitely be bringing the group back for Sunday Brunch. Thank you for your hospitality. You have made all of our holidays a more memorable one.”


Kathlene & David Lowenstein on Apr 29, 2008 said:

“Your warmth, generosity & great-at-what-you-do-ness made for a relaxed & entirely enjoyable night! Jack may never come down from the high. You can count on his wedding in a decade or two.”


Pat on Apr 12, 2007 said:

“Jim was asked to serve on the Board of Directors for the Community Health Accreditation Program and he attended his first Board meeting on Tuesday. The organization was having a dinner on Wednesday night to honor and say farewell to both a long time Board member and a long time staffer. It was to be held at The Mansion on O Street formerly, The O Street Mansion and before that H.H. Leonards.... the very place we got married! When he told them that, they told him to bring me. Without telling me where it was, except for "some hotel" on O Street, he told me that I was invited and asked if I wanted to go. I said, sure, why not....I met him at his office at 5:45, we took a taxi over...I didn't exactly hear the address he gave the driver, but when the taxi turned the corner onto the street and asked what address we were looking for again, Jim said, 2020...and the dawn struck!! "Hey," I said, "isn't that where we got MARRIED!" "Why YES," he said, laughing his little trickster laugh. It was very nice and exciting. We hadn't been back at all since the wedding in 1983 and it was only one house then. Now it is five interconnecting houses and very interesting to explore. They had a fabulous bar and both of the young women make excellent and very large cosmos...I know because I had two! Then, after we were all seated but before we ate dinner, H. H. herself talked a little about the place and asked if there were any questions. I told her we had gotten married there almost 25 years ago! And she gave us a coupon for a complimentary champagne Sunday brunch for two....I think we'll use it on May 27, which is the Sunday before our anniverary on the 29th. And maybe we'll have a party back there for our 25th anniversary next year. It's certainly a beautiful and fun place and the food is fabulous!”

Previous 500   1   2   3   4   5   6   Next